Thomas Raddall
Atlantic Fiction Award

One prize ($25,000) is awarded each year for a novel or a book of short fiction that was written by a full-time resident of Atlantic Canada and published and/or distributed for the first time in Canada in the year prior to the submission deadline.

The Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award was established in 1991 with an endowment by Thomas Head Raddall himself, and it continues with ongoing support from the Raddall family. The award honours the work of fiction writers in the Atlantic region and, as its original benefactor envisioned, provides “the gift of time and peace of mind” so essential to the creation of new work.

A writer may win the Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award a maximum of three times. Young adult (YA) titles are ineligible for this award and should be submitted to the Ann Connor Brimer Award.

Past Recipients

2020 Winner

The Innocents by Michael Crummey (Doubleday Canada)

2020 Shortlist

Crocuses Hatch from Snow by Jaime Burnet (Vagrant Press – a Nimbus imprint)

The Waiting Hours by Shandi Mitchell (Viking Canada)

Scroll to Top