Thomas Raddall
Atlantic Fiction Award

One prize ($30,000) is awarded each year for a novel or a book of short fiction that was written by a full-time resident of Atlantic Canada and published and/or distributed for the first time in Canada in the year prior to the submission deadline.

The Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award was established in 1991 with an endowment by Thomas Head Raddall himself, and it continues with ongoing support from the Raddall family. The award honours the work of fiction writers in the Atlantic region and, as its original benefactor envisioned, provides “the gift of time and peace of mind” so essential to the creation of new work.

Inaugurated as a $5000 prize, the award has grown steadily under the Raddall family’s stewardship. Beginning in 2022, the prize amount was raised from $25,000 to $30,000.

A writer may win the Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award a maximum of three times. Young adult (YA) titles are ineligible for this award and should be submitted to the Ann Connor Brimer Award.

Past Recipients

2022 Winner

Michelle Butler Hallett, Constant Nobody (Goose Lane Editions)

2022 Finalists

David Huebert, Chemical Valley (Biblioasis)

Sharon Robart-Johnson, Jude and Diana (Fernwood Publishing)

Scroll to Top

Recommended Experience Levels

The Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia (WFNS) recommends that each workshop’s participants share a level or range of writing / publication experience. This is to ensure each participant gets value from the workshop⁠ and is presented with information, strategies, and skills that suit their current writing priorities.

To this end, the “Recommended experience level” section of each workshop description refers to the following definitions developed by WFNS:

  • New writers: those who have been writing creatively for less than two years and/or have not yet been published in any form.
  • Emerging writers: those who have been writing creatively for less than five years and/or have some short publications (poems, stories, or essays) in literary magazines, journals, or anthologies.
  • Established writers/authors: those with numerous publications in magazines, journals, or anthologies and/or a full-length book publication.
  • Professional authors: those with two or more full-length book publications.

For “intensive” and “masterclass” workshops, which provide more opportunities for peer-to-peer (that is, participant-to-participant) feedback, the recommended experience level should be followed.

For all other workshops, the recommended experience level is just that—a recommendation—and we encourage potential participants to follow their own judgment when registering.

If you’re uncertain of your experience level with regard to any particular workshop, please feel free to contact us at