Book Awards

Book Awards administered by the Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia (WFNS) celebrate and promote excellence in writing from Nova Scotia and from Atlantic Canada. The number of titles submitted each year is a testament to the diversity and quality of writing from our region.

Although jurors have the unenviable task of selecting one winner for each award, each year’s shortlists introduce local, national, and international readers to a tremendous body of work and the vibrant culture of the region. WFNS administers and acts as steward for two Nova Scotia Book Awards and three Atlantic Book Awards.

Nova Scotia Book Awards

Additional Nova Scotia Book Awards categories are listed on the Dartmouth Books Awards website.

2022 Jury:
Jeff Miller; Sandra Phinney; Wanda Taylor

No 2022 prize;
submissions will reopen to 2023 prize

Atlantic Book Awards

Additional Atlantic Book Awards categories are listed on the Atlantic Books Awards Society website.

2022 Jury:
Andrea Currie; Tracey Jones-Grant; Jill MacLean

2022 Jury:
Tammy Armstrong; John Guiney-Yallop; Tiffany Morris

2022 Jury:
Eva Crocker; Dian Day; Evelyn C. White


The Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia thanks the Dartmouth Book Awards and the Atlantic Book Awards Society for their partnership in delivering these book awards.

Scroll to Top