Paul Marriner

Born in Halifax in 1944, Paul went to Dalhousie and Nova Scotia Tech and graduated in Mechanical Engineering. He taught at the Royal Military College in Kingston, where he also received a Master’s Degree. Paul now owns and operates Gale’s End Press. A member of the Outdoor Writer’s Association of Canada and the Writers Federation of Nova Scotia, his articles have appeared in magazines on five continents, and number in the hundreds. Paul’s books include: Fly Patterns of Canada, Modern Atlantic Salmon Flies (2000 Outdoor Writers Book Award), Atlantic Salmon: A Fly Fishing Reference, Fly Fishing in Lakes & Ponds, How to Choose & Use Fly-tying Thread, Stillwater Fly Fishing: Tools & Tactics, Atlantic Salmon – A Fly Fishing Primer (1994 Outdoor Writers Book Award), The Ausable River Journal, The Miramichi River Journal, and Mahone Bay Mornings. Several of the above are available in digital format. He has also contributed to several anthologies. In 1991 Paul won the Gregory Clark Award for outstanding contributions to the arts of fly fishing, and in 2008 won the Jean-Guy Côté Award for continuous contributions to the arts of fly tying. In 2008 he was also a member of the Outdoor Canada team of writers, who won a gold medal at the National Magazine Awards.

Now living in Mahone Bay, NS, Paul continues his association with the writing/publishing world via Gale’s End Press. Besides his own titles, he has edited and published two by other authors and created the design and layout for a third.


See the main description.


See the main description.

Scroll to Top

Recommended Experience Levels

The Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia (WFNS) recommends that each workshop’s participants share a level or range of writing / publication experience. This is to ensure each participant gets value from the workshop⁠ and is presented with information, strategies, and skills that suit their current writing priorities.

To this end, the “Recommended experience level” section of each workshop description refers to the following definitions developed by WFNS:

  • New writers: those who have been writing creatively for less than two years and/or have not yet been published in any form.
  • Emerging writers: those who have been writing creatively for less than five years and/or have some short publications (poems, stories, or essays) in literary magazines, journals, or anthologies.
  • Established writers/authors: those with numerous publications in magazines, journals, or anthologies and/or a full-length book publication.
  • Professional authors: those with two or more full-length book publications.

For “intensive” and “masterclass” workshops, which provide more opportunities for peer-to-peer (that is, participant-to-participant) feedback, the recommended experience level should be followed.

For all other workshops, the recommended experience level is just that—a recommendation—and we encourage potential participants to follow their own judgment when registering.

If you’re uncertain of your experience level with regard to any particular workshop, please feel free to contact us at