Matt Robinson


Born and raised in Halifax, NS, Matt Robinson is a poet who currently lives in Halifax, NS, with his family, and works as the Director of Housing & Conference Services at Saint Mary’s University.

His most recent full-length collection of poems, Some Nights It’s Entertainment; Some Other Nights Just Work was released by Kentville, NS’s Gaspereau Press in 2016. A new chapbook of poems, Against, was released by Gaspereau Press in 2018. Previous publications include the limited edition chapbooks The Telephone Game (Baseline Press, 2017) and a fist made and the un-made, which was released in 2013 by Gaspereau Press as a part of their Devil’s Whim Occasional Chapbook series and shortlisted for the bpNichol Chapbook Award, as well as full length collections including Against the Hard Angle (ECW Press, 2010), no cage contains a stare that well (ECW, 2005), A Ruckus of Awkward Stacking (Insomniac, 2000), which was nominated for the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award and the ReLit Award for Poetryhow we play at it: a list (ECW, 2002). He also has two additional limited edition chapbooks: tracery & interplay (Frog Hollow Press, 2004) and Against the Hard Angle (Greenboathouse Press, 2009) to his credit. 

His poems have also appeared in a number of anthologies, including  The New Canon, Breathing Fire 2, Coastlines: The Poetry of Atlantic Canada, Exact Fare Only 2MESS: The Hospital Anthology, and Landmarks: An Anthology of New Atlantic Canadian Poetry of the Land, and been featured in programs such as the Halifax Regional Municipality’s Art in Public Places initiative (his poem ‘grand parade, halifax’ is publically featured in Halifax’s Grand Parade Square), as well as AFCOOP’s collaborative “A Certain Openness: the filming of poetry” project and subsequently screened at both the Halifax Independent Filmmakers’ Festival and the Atlantic Film Festival.

A Poetry Editor at The Fiddlehead during his time in Fredericton, Robinson was also involved with the Halifax literary journal All Rights Reserved as a Senior Editor. He has also served as a mentor in the WFNS’s Mentorship Program, been involved with Writers in the Schools programs in both Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, and served as a judge in competitions such as the The Atlantic Poetry Prize, The J M Abraham Poetry Award, Halifax Public Libraries’ Word Up! Poetry Contest, and various English department writing prizes at Dalhousie University, among others. Robinson holds a BA and a BSc from Saint Mary’s University, a BEd from Mount Saint Vincent University, and an MA from The University of New Brunswick. He is a graduate of Halifax’s J. L. Ilsley High School


A Ruckus of Awkward Stacking, Insomniac Press, 2000.

 how we play at it: a list, ECW Press, 2002.

tracery & interplay, Frog Hollow Press, 2004.

 no cage contains a stare that well, ECW Press, 2005.

Against the Hard Angle, Greenboathouse Press, 2009.

Against the Hard Angle, ECW Press, 2010.

 a fist made and then un-made, Gaspereau Press, 2013.

Some Nights It’s Entertainment; Some Other Nights Just Work, Gaspereau Press, 2016.

The Telephone GameBaseline Press, 2017.

AgainstGaspereau Press, 2018.

Scroll to Top