Carol McDougall


Carol McDougall is a writer and  advocate for early literacy.  She was born in Northern Ontario and has been active in the Nova Scotia writing community for many years.

In 2005 she was awarded the Mayor’s Award for her contribution to literature and literacy and in 2010 received the Progress Women of Excellence Award for the Arts.

In 2012 Carol received the Beacon Award for Social Justice Literature for her novel Wake the Stone Man, which was inspired by her northern roots. The novel was published in 2015 by Roseway Publishing. Wake the Stone Man was awarded the 2017 Frye Acadamy Award.

Carol’s work includes writing for children, non-fiction, fiction, essays, book reviews and video scripts and her short fiction has been published in Room and presented on CBC radio. 




  • My Tummy Time Friends – 2019
  • Time for Bed – 2018
  • Maud Lewis 123 – 2017
  • Let’s Point – 2017
  • Let’s Read – 2016
  • Look at Me Now! – 2014
  • Wake the Stone Man – 2013
  • Baby Talk – Nimbus Publishing – 2013
  • Baby Play – Nimbus Publishing – 2012
  • Baby Look – Nimbus Publishing – 2012
  • Nova Scotia Guide to Frugal Living – Nimbus Publishing – 2009
  • In the Soul of the House – Room of One’s Own – 2001

2017 Frye Acadamy Award, 2012 Beacon Award, 2010 Women of Excellence,  2005 Mayor’s Award 




Scroll to Top

Recommended Experience Levels

The Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia (WFNS) recommends that each workshop’s participants share a level or range of writing / publication experience. This is to ensure each participant gets value from the workshop⁠ and is presented with information, strategies, and skills that suit their current writing priorities.

To this end, the “Recommended experience level” section of each workshop description refers to the following definitions developed by WFNS:

  • New writers: those who have been writing creatively for less than two years and/or have not yet been published in any form.
  • Emerging writers: those who have been writing creatively for less than five years and/or have some short publications (poems, stories, or essays) in literary magazines, journals, or anthologies.
  • Established writers/authors: those with numerous publications in magazines, journals, or anthologies and/or a full-length book publication.
  • Professional authors: those with two or more full-length book publications.

For “intensive” and “masterclass” workshops, which provide more opportunities for peer-to-peer (that is, participant-to-participant) feedback, the recommended experience level should be followed.

For all other workshops, the recommended experience level is just that—a recommendation—and we encourage potential participants to follow their own judgment when registering.

If you’re uncertain of your experience level with regard to any particular workshop, please feel free to contact us at