The submission theme “home” was open to broad interpretation, touching on ideas of transport, transit, accessibility, the East Coast, city living, coming home, and leaving home.

Selected poets: Afua Cooper, Jaime Forsythe, Sue Goyette, Shauntay Grant, Sylvia D. Hamilton, Shalan Joudry, Cory Lavender, Matt Robinson, Eleonore Schönmaier, and Anne Simpson.

Jury: Karen Dahl (of Halifax Public Libraries), Andre Fenton, Amanda Peters, and Alison Smith.

Poetry in Motion Celebration

Poetry in Motion celebration 2019

The 2019 Poetry in Motion Celebration, held at Halifax Central Library on November 4, 2019, and hosted by Alison Smith, winner of the 2019 J.M. Abraham Atlantic Poetry Award. The event featured readings by Afua Cooper, Sylvia D. Hamilton, Cory Lavender, and Matt Robinson.

View the Installations

In October, 2019, posters were installed on Halifax Transit buses in the HRM. Posters were illustrated by Jack Wong.

Click on a poem below to view a larger version. 

Scroll to Top

Recommended Experience Levels

The Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia (WFNS) recommends that each workshop’s participants share a level or range of writing / publication experience. This is to ensure each participant gets value from the workshop⁠ and is presented with information, strategies, and skills that suit their current writing priorities.

To this end, the “Recommended experience level” section of each workshop description refers to the following definitions developed by WFNS:

  • New writers: those who have been writing creatively for less than two years and/or have not yet been published in any form.
  • Emerging writers: those who have been writing creatively for less than five years and/or have some short publications (poems, stories, or essays) in literary magazines, journals, or anthologies.
  • Established writers/authors: those with numerous publications in magazines, journals, or anthologies and/or a full-length book publication.
  • Professional authors: those with two or more full-length book publications.

For “intensive” and “masterclass” workshops, which provide more opportunities for peer-to-peer (that is, participant-to-participant) feedback, the recommended experience level should be followed.

For all other workshops, the recommended experience level is just that—a recommendation—and we encourage potential participants to follow their own judgment when registering.

If you’re uncertain of your experience level with regard to any particular workshop, please feel free to contact us at communications@writers.ns.ca