Douglas Arthur Brown


Douglas Arthur Brown is the author of seven books. His latest The Island Hoppers was released in 2015. The Globe and Mail called his novel, Quintet, a masterfully written book. It was the recipient of the 2009 Thomas Head Raddall Fiction Prize, and short-listed for the Dartmouth Book Award. The Magic Compass – a children’s Christmas advent book – is part of The Atlantic Collection, a project by the Nova Scotia Department of Education that placed the book in every elementary school in Nova Scotia. Douglas won a Nova Scotia Established Artist Recognition Award in 2009 sponsored by the Nova Scotia Arts and Culture Partnership, NS Department of Culture.  He was awarded The Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012 for his contribution to Canadian culture.

Douglas’ short stories have appeared in various literary magazines and his work is in included in four anthologies. Douglas was also the publisher and managing editor of the Canadian literary magazine, Pottersfield Portfolio for several years.

Douglas served on the National Council of The Writers’ Union of Canada, and is a past-president of the Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia. For many years, he participated in WFNS’ Writers in the Schools Program, and conducts professional development writing workshops. For three years, he was writer-in-residence at Boularderie Elementary School, and was writer-in-residence at Florence Elementary School in 2010.


2009 Nova Scotia Established Artist Award


Thomas Head Raddall Atlantic Fiction Prize


Shortlisted for the Dartmouth Book Award; ‘Quintet’


Finalist for the Theatre B.C. National Playwriting Competition for the play The Weaverbird.

Scroll to Top

Recommended Experience Levels

The Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia (WFNS) recommends that each workshop’s participants share a level or range of writing / publication experience. This is to ensure each participant gets value from the workshop⁠ and is presented with information, strategies, and skills that suit their current writing priorities.

To this end, the “Recommended experience level” section of each workshop description refers to the following definitions developed by WFNS:

  • New writers: those who have been writing creatively for less than two years and/or have not yet been published in any form.
  • Emerging writers: those who have been writing creatively for less than five years and/or have some short publications (poems, stories, or essays) in literary magazines, journals, or anthologies.
  • Established writers/authors: those with numerous publications in magazines, journals, or anthologies and/or a full-length book publication.
  • Professional authors: those with two or more full-length book publications.

For “intensive” and “masterclass” workshops, which provide more opportunities for peer-to-peer (that is, participant-to-participant) feedback, the recommended experience level should be followed.

For all other workshops, the recommended experience level is just that—a recommendation—and we encourage potential participants to follow their own judgment when registering.

If you’re uncertain of your experience level with regard to any particular workshop, please feel free to contact us at