Charlene Carr

Charlene has a Bachelor of Arts Honours (English) from Crandall University, a Master of Arts (English) from Dalhousie, and a Bachelor of Journalism from University of King’s College. After travelling the globe and working a number of years in various (mostly writing related) jobs, she left employed work to start a Communications business with the naïve hope of having more flexibility and time to finish her first full-length novel. She eventually did. And after her husband’s career took her to Newfoundland, she put aside her Communications work to focus exclusively on novel writing.

Since then, Charlene has independently published nine novels and a novella. Her upcoming novel, Hold My Girl, pitched for fans of Celeste Ng and Liane Moriarty, is her first agented book and has been picked up by HarperCollins Canada and Welbeck Publishing (UK) in two-book deals, and Alma Littera (Lithuania). It’s set to publish in January and February 2023, and has also been optioned for television adaptation by Blink49 Studios in partnership with Groundswell Productions.

Charlene recently received grants from both Arts Nova Scotia and Canada Council for the Arts to write, research, and revise her next book, tentatively titled Violet’s Daughters.


Hold My Girl, HarperCollins Canada, Welbeck Publishing, (Forthcoming)

The Stories We Tell, Behind Our Lives Trilogy #3, Coastal Lines*, 2017

What We See, Behind Our Lives Trilogy #2, Coastal Lines, 2017

Behind Our Lives, Behind Our Lives Trilogy #1, Coastal Lines, 2016

Elixir Vitae: A Short Story in Tricks & Treats: A Romance Anthology,

Guardian Publishing, Gander, Newfoundland, 2016

Before I Knew You: A Novella, Coastal Lines, 2016

Whispers of Hope, A New Start #5, Coastal Lines, 2016

Forever In My Heart, A New Start #4, Coastal Lines, 2015

By What We Love, A New Start #3, Coastal Lines, 2015

Beneath the Silence, Coastal Lines, 2015

Where There Is Life, A New Start #2, Coastal Lines, 2014

When Comes The Joy , A New Start #1, Coastal Lines, 2014

* Coastal Lines is Charlene’s independent publishing imprint.

Scroll to Top