Charlene Carr

BIOGRAPHY
Charlene has a Bachelor of Arts Honours (English) from Crandall University, a Master of Arts (English) from Dalhousie, and a Bachelor of Journalism from University of King’s College. After travelling the globe and working a number of years in various (mostly writing related) jobs, she left employed work to start a Communications business with the naïve hope of having more flexibility and time to finish her first full-length novel. She eventually did. And after her husband’s career took her to Newfoundland, she put aside her Communications work to focus exclusively on novel writing.

Since then, Charlene has independently published nine novels and a novella. Her upcoming novel, Hold My Girl, pitched for fans of Celeste Ng and Liane Moriarty, is her first agented book and has been picked up by HarperCollins Canada and Welbeck Publishing (UK) in two-book deals, and Alma Littera (Lithuania). It’s set to publish in January and February 2023, and has also been optioned for television adaptation by Blink49 Studios in partnership with Groundswell Productions.

Charlene recently received grants from both Arts Nova Scotia and Canada Council for the Arts to write, research, and revise her next book, tentatively titled Violet’s Daughters.

PUBLICATIONS

Hold My Girl, HarperCollins Canada, Welbeck Publishing, (Forthcoming)

The Stories We Tell, Behind Our Lives Trilogy #3, Coastal Lines*, 2017

What We See, Behind Our Lives Trilogy #2, Coastal Lines, 2017

Behind Our Lives, Behind Our Lives Trilogy #1, Coastal Lines, 2016

Elixir Vitae: A Short Story in Tricks & Treats: A Romance Anthology,

Guardian Publishing, Gander, Newfoundland, 2016

Before I Knew You: A Novella, Coastal Lines, 2016

Whispers of Hope, A New Start #5, Coastal Lines, 2016

Forever In My Heart, A New Start #4, Coastal Lines, 2015

By What We Love, A New Start #3, Coastal Lines, 2015

Beneath the Silence, Coastal Lines, 2015

Where There Is Life, A New Start #2, Coastal Lines, 2014

When Comes The Joy , A New Start #1, Coastal Lines, 2014

* Coastal Lines is Charlene’s independent publishing imprint.


Scroll to Top

Recommended Experience Levels

The Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia (WFNS) recommends that each workshop’s participants share a level or range of writing / publication experience. This is to ensure each participant gets value from the workshop⁠ and is presented with information, strategies, and skills that suit their current writing priorities.

To this end, the “Recommended experience level” section of each workshop description refers to the following definitions developed by WFNS:

  • New writers: those who have been writing creatively for less than two years and/or have not yet been published in any form.
  • Emerging writers: those who have been writing creatively for less than five years and/or have some short publications (poems, stories, or essays) in literary magazines, journals, or anthologies.
  • Established writers/authors: those with numerous publications in magazines, journals, or anthologies and/or a full-length book publication.
  • Professional authors: those with two or more full-length book publications.

For “intensive” and “masterclass” workshops, which provide more opportunities for peer-to-peer (that is, participant-to-participant) feedback, the recommended experience level should be followed.

For all other workshops, the recommended experience level is just that—a recommendation—and we encourage potential participants to follow their own judgment when registering.

If you’re uncertain of your experience level with regard to any particular workshop, please feel free to contact us at communications@writers.ns.ca