The Evelyn Richardson Non-Fiction Award was first presented in 1978. Named in honour of Evelyn Richardson, who in 1945 won the Governor General’s Non-Fiction Award for We Keep A Light, her memoir of life in a family of lighthouse keepers in Shelburne County, the award has been honouring the best non-fiction titles by Nova Scotians for 34 years.  


2014: Stephen Kimber, What Lies Across the Water: The Real Story of the Cuban Five.
Fernwood Publishing 

2013: Steven Laffoley, Shadowboxing 
Pottersfield Press

2012: Harry Thurston, The Atlantic Coast: A Natural History.
Greystone Books and the David Suzuki Foundation.

Learn more about the 2012 shortlist.
2011: Laura Penny, More Money Than Brains: Why Schools Suck, College is Crap, and Idiots Think They're Right.
McClelland & Stewart.

2010: John DeMont, Coal Black Heart: The Story of Coal and the Lives it Ruled.
Doubleday Canada.

2009: William B. Naftel, Halifax at War: Searchlights, Squadrons, and Submarines 1939-1945.

2008: Marq de Villiers, The Witch in the Wind: The True Story of the Legendary Bluenose.
Thomas Allen Publishers.

2007: Linden MacIntyre, Causeway: A Passage from Innocence. McClelland & Stewart.

2006: Linda Johns, Birds of a Feather: Tales of a Wild Bird Haven. Goose Lane Editions.

2005: Marq de Villiers and Sheila Hirtle, A Dune Adrift. McClelland & Stewart.

2004: Harry Thurston, Island of the Blessed: the Secrets of Egypt's Everlasting Oasis. Doubleday Canada.

2003: Stephen Kimber, Sailors, Slackers and Blind Pigs: Halifax at War. Penguin Canada.

2002: Kent Thompson, Getting Out of Town by Book and Bike. Gaspereau Press.

2001: Joan Baxter, A Serious Pair of Shoes: An African Journal. Pottersfield Press.

2000: Robin Metcalfe, Studio Rally. Goose Lane Editions.

1999: Silver Donald Cameron, The Living Beach. Macmillan Canada.

1998: Harry Bruce, An Illustrated History of Nova Scotia. Nimbus Publishing.

1997: Harry Thurston, The Nature of Shorebirds: Nomads of the Wetlands. Greystone Books (A division of Douglas & McIntyre).

1996: Simone Poirier-Bures, That Shining Place. Ottawa, Oberon.

1995: Elizabeth Pacey, Landmarks: Historic Buildings of Nova Scotia. Nimbus Publishing.

1994: Peter Brock, Variations on a Planet. Porter's Lake, Nova Scotia, Pottersfield Press.

1993: Sally Ross and Alphonse Deveau, The Acadians of Nova Scotia: Past and Present. Nimbus Publishing.

1992: Robert Pope, Illness and Healing: Images of Cancer. Lancelot Press.

1991: Harry Thurston, Tidal Life: a Natural History of the Bay of Fundy. Camden House.

1990: Judith Fingard, The Dark Side of Life in Victorian Halifax. Pottersfield Press.

1989: Dean Jobb, Shades of Justice: Seven Nova Scotia Murder Cases. Nimbus Publishing.

1988: Harold Horwood, Dancing on the Shore: A Celebration of Life at Annapolis Basin. McClelland and Stewart.

1987: Tony Foster, Meeting of Generals. Methuen.

1986: P. B. Waite, The Man from Halifax: Sir John Thompson, Prime Minister. University of Toronto Press.

1985: Lilias M. Toward, Mabel Bell: Alexander's Silent Partner. Methuen.

1984: Brian C. Cuthbertson, The Loyalist Governor: A Biography of Sir John Wentworth. Petheric.

1983: J. Murray Beck, Joseph Howe: Volume 1, Conservative Reformer, 1804-1848, McGill-Queen's University Press.

1982: Bruce Armstrong, Sable Island, Doubleday Canada.

1981: Kay Hill, Joe Howe: The Man Who Was Nova Scotia. Toronto, McClelland and Stewart.

1980: Joan and L.J. Payzant, Like a Weaver's Shuttle: A History of the Halifax-Dartmouth Ferries. Nimbus Publishing.

1979: Alden Nowlan, Double Exposure. Brunswick.

1978: Harry Bruce, Lifeline: The Story of the Atlantic Ferries and Coastal Boats. MacMillan.