The Atlantic Poetry Prize was created by the writing community in the late 1990s. The Writers' Federation of Nova Scotia, with the assistance of several poets, publishers, and post-secondary institutions, raised funds for an annual award program designed to honour the best book of poetry by an Atlantic Canadian. The Prize was first presented in 1998. 


2013: Lesley Choyce, I’m Alive. I Believe in Everything. 
Breton Books.

2012: Sue Goyette, outskirts.
Brick Books.

Learn more about the 2012 shortlist.

2011: John Steffler, Lookout.
McClelland & Stewart.

2010: Tonja Gunvaldsen Klaassen, Lean-To.
Gaspereau Press.

2009: Brent MacLaine, Shades of Green.
Acorn Press.

2008: Don Domanski, All Our Wonder Unavenged.
Brick Books.

2007: Steve McOrmond, Primer on the Hereafter.
Wolsak & Wynn.

2006: Anne Compton, Processional.
Fitzhenry & Whiteside.

2005: David Helwig, The Year One.
Gaspereau Press.

2004: Brian Bartlett, Wanting the Day.
Goose Lane Editions.

2003: Anne Compton, Opening the Island.
Fitzhenry & Whiteside.

2002: M. Travis Lane, Keeping Afloat.

2001: Anne Simpson, Light Falls Through You.
McClelland & Stewart.

2000: Ken Babstock, Mean.

1999: John Steffler, That Night We Were Ravenous.
McClelland & Stewart.

1998: Carmelita McGrath, To the New World.
Killick Press.